Navaratri is a festival for worshipping Divine Mother Parashakthi. Navaratri is a Sanskrit word, meaning ‘nine nights.’ During these nine nights, Devi is worshipped in nine forms. The tenth day is referred to as Vijayadashami or “Dussehra.”

Devi appears in 3 main forms and 3 gunas as Saraswathi Mata representing Sathva Guna (Jnana shakti), Lekshmi Mata representing Rajo Guna (Kriya shakti), and Durga Matha representing Thamo Guna (Iccha shakti). During navarathi pooja of 9 days, first 3 nights Durga Devi is workshipped, next 3 nights Lekshmi Devi, and the next 3 nights Saraswathi Devi.

In daily life, we can workship Aadiparashakti in the form of Saraswathi for education and knowledge, Lekshmi for wealth and prosperity in life, and Durga for giving us courage and to remove all negativity.

Durga Devi is also worshipped under nine different names for the nine days in Navratri. These are Shailaputhri, Brahmachartini, Chandraghanta, Kushmanda, Skandamaata, Kaatyayani, Kaalratri, Mahagauri, and Siddhidaatri.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.