Fibroid Awareness

Hello my dear ones,

I would like to share about few things on fibroids with you all. Due to family history, lifestyle changes, environmental factors, a woman develop one or more fibroids during her child-bearing ages until menopause.

Even though most fibroids are non-cancerous, growth of fibroids should be monitored periodically after one is diagnosed with fibroids.

Some women have symptoms like increased menstrual bleeding followed by low hemoglobin, anemia and fatigue, severe cramping, passing large blood clots, increase in weight, mood swings, hyperpigmentation, etc., whereas some have very few symptoms which go unnoticed.

Once diagnosed with fibroids, better take the advice of an experienced gynecologist (allopathic doctor). Depending upon the severity, doctor will prescribe the suitable treatment. From the experience of my mother, 2 aunts, 2 cousin sisters and some friends, it’s utter waste of health, time and little or no benefit if you go for homeopathic and ayurvedic treatments for fibroids. Some ayurvedic tablets may arrest the growth of fibroids for few months but will badly affect your liver.

All of the above mentioned dear ones of mine suffered a lot for 3-4 years with fibroids by taking ayurvedic and homeopathic treatments. At last, they all ended up in open surgery and not laparoscopy due to the enlarged size and increase in number of fibroids. Except one friend, others had to remove their uterus too.

I too was diagnosed with 3 fibroids 2 years back (2 large and 1 medium sized). I followed doctor’s advice and underwent laparoscopic removal of fibroids.

If fibroids’ size were less, I could have undergone fibroid artery embolization rather than laparoscopy. But I had only few symptoms which I didn’t cared much and they increased in size without my knowledge. Only when I went for a checkup, doctor felt doubt and ordered ultrasound and diagnosed the fibroids.

I had passing of clots, migraines and some hyperpigmentation, which I didn’t know at that time were due to underlying fibroids and thus, fibroids remained unnoticed. I had surgery 2 years back and I have recurrence of fibroids now, which are small in size now.

I am undergoing ultrasound scan every 6 months to monitor the size of fibroids and taking care of my diet and lifestyle changes.

I am eating a Mediterranean diet with less carbs and more fiber and protein. I also do cardio exercises+ yoga daily to maintain healthy weight. I am also taking magnesium supplement prescribed by doctor which helps in migraines. If needed, I will undergo fibroid artery embolization in future after reviewing the size of fibroids with the doctor.

Please be careful if you or your ones have fibroid. When the size is less, sometimes it will shrink on its own, but sometimes it will grow gradually depending upon your body’s mechanism and genetics. Taking an experienced doctor’s advice is always the best rather than go for home remedies and homeopathic/ayurvedic treatments.

Developing hyperpigmentation on sides of mouth, passing clots, migraines, irregular periods, increased bleeding during periods, loss of libido, painful intercourse, sudden weight gain, and most importantly family history of fibroids, etc. are the points which you have to look for for the chances of fibroids.

Please share this with your dear ones too πŸ™

Lots of love,

Krishna 😊

19 thoughts on “Fibroid Awareness

  1. Take care, Krishna. Bold of you to share your medical conditions. May God bless you. I will be in Kerala later this year. So will connect with you at that time.

      1. I eat carbs in the form of rice (just 1 tablespoon), sometimes chama rice or oats, then for protein, I take either paneer or any of the pulses daily. Then I take more green leafy vegetables, broccoli, muringa leaves, spinach, cabbage and fruits like guava, apple, banana, watermelon, oranges, pineapple, etc. Chocolates are my weakness, but I am taking very less now and mostly a piece of dark chocolate. I use both coconut oil and peanut oil for cooking and avoids deeply fried items most times. I drink black coffee and tea without sugar.

      2. Yes. Actually only the controlling of sugar/sweetness is a challenge for me as I love sweets, chocolates, cookies and cakes. I used to eat more rice earlier, which I reduced now and eat more vegetable curries. For snacks, I eat makhana (lotus seeds), peanuts, oats biscuits, etc. When we eat proteins more, won’t get hungry like we eat carbs (like dosa, idli, rice, etc.).

    1. Thank you dear Arjun. Yes, environmental changes, changes in food habits, exposure to various chemical, etc. cause hormonal changes and also the family history results in fibroids.

  2. Yeah, my mother is hospitalized because of this and she had a surgery yesterday to remove the uterus as well, many of my mother’s friends also have this issue

    1. Oh…how is your mother now? After removing uterus, no fibroids will grow. Since I am below 40 and have no children, our law won’t allow uterus removal unless any life threatening disease. When uterus is there, chances of fibroids there till menopause.

      Since your mother’s uterus removed, she is safe. She too can have mediterranean diet in order to balance the hormones and to control weight. Most women put weight
      after uterus removal. After asking doctor about the rest, she may practice walking and simple exercises at home daily to maintain health.

    1. Yeah, let’s see, I do eat a lot so I don’t think these fruits will help but let’s see. I do want to reduce the carbs so I’ll give it a try

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.